Your little bit of good counts

5 simple was to make a difference

Do you realise that you have the potential to make this world that we live in a little more brighter, a world that’s filled with so much hate and negativity but yet you the potential to make it better.

I truly believe that anyone can make this world a better place regardless of what they may or may not have. This year I have been challenging myself to go beyond and to do things that I would not normally do. I may not have a great big mansion to take in the homeless or a huge sum of money to give to charity, but I know for sure that any act of kindness can help make an everlasting impact on someone and that every little teensy-weensy positive  act goes a long way.

“Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world.” – Desmond Tutu

So here  is a list of ways that you can be kind to someone today without even thinking about it. This list is not by any means exclusive but I do hope that it inspires and challenges you to be a better you, I also hope that you see yourself in the list because it’s compelled of things that you yourself probably already do but have never thought of it as kindness.

 

1. Saying thank you

Someone does something nice for you show your appreciation by saying thank you, it’s as simple as that.

 2. Compliment

This is so easy to do that most of us just do it without even thinking about it. Compliments are great because they can totally transform someone’s day or even boost their self esteem. Just to clarify myself, if you don’t like a particinular thing don’t lie by complimenting on it just for the sake of making a compliment. The whole point of complimenting is to be kind and honest, not to lie.

3. Reach out

We are all very busy with our own lives and sometimes we are just so busy that we allow our relationships to fade out of thin air. Reach out to someone you haven’t seen or spoken to in a while, this could be an old school friend or a work colleague,  reach out to them weather it  be through a phone call or even dropping them an email.  If it’s someone who was super close to you, you could go the extra mile and send them a card saying just how much you miss them along with some flowers.

4. A meal

You don’t have to be Jamie Oliver in order to carry out this act of kindness. Make someone you appreciate having in your life a meal. If you want  you can go all out by making them their favourite meal or  just something very simple, either way the person will appreciate it.

5. The Door

Don’t you just hate it when someone slams a door in your face!

intentionally or unintentionally  having a door slammed in your face is not a very good experience. The other day I was passing through a door, this door wasn’t like any other door. It was the heaviest door I have ever seen, the kind of door that if it hits you it will automatically mess up your whole face or if you are a little clumsy like me you will probably end up stumbling backwards. Well me and this guy were passing through the same door with him being a few inches in front of me. He opened the door and slammed it right in my face, knowing I was right behind him.

I was very annoyed but I quickly recovered by making  a short prayer so that anger would not overtake me and for God to help me to forgive this total stranger. The last thing I wanted was for anger to rule over me and for a total stranger to ruin my entire day.

This little story of mine is just an example of how the little things that we do can make a big difference. When you are going through a door, no matter what kind of door it is. It’s always good to look over your shoulder just to double check if someone’s a few steps behind you or even coming towards you. Use this opportunity to be kind by holding the door for them.

Finally, don’t allow one unkind act from someone outweigh the many kind acts from everyone. In other words don’t allow a stranger who slams a door in your face intertionally or unintentionally ruin your entire day, it’s not fair on the many people who are making your day brighter  by being kind to you!.

 “And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart” – Galatians 6:9

Hope you enjoyed reading this post, speak to you soon! 🙂 … Now go kill someone with your simple acts of kindness!.

-Claris

 

Image by Kim Jones and from Kimcamjones.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Your little bit of good counts

  1. Hi Claris,

    Being kind is something I just don’t hear people talk about that much anymore. Everyone into themselves.

    I love your list. There is always valuable lessons to be learned from saying thank you and holding a door for someone.

    I seen your blog at OM meet and greet. I will be sharing this post.

    Vernon

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thoughts...

