Encouraging Word · Faith - Hope - Love

Why should we wait on God?

tumblr_nlklzz9Yc41u5944ao1_500

I hate waiting. I hate the fact that I have to wait for something that I really want right now. Weather it’s waiting for an email response, a job I applied for or something I ordered online, chances are I won’t be happy if it involves me having to wait.

God has and is still teaching me some lessons on the importance of being patient and waiting on Him. I’m going to share some of the things that He has taught me.

God knows that most of us are not fond of waiting then why does He makes us wait?.

1. God wants to develop our Patience

God wants to develop our patience and He is able to do this when we have to wait on Him. He wants us to be patience when we ask Him for things. While we wait we should be thankful and appreciate what He has given us. Waiting on God requires a lot of patience and we can’t do it without leaning on His word.

God makes us wait for a reason. So if you are waiting on Him then know that it’s for your own good. God tells us that “All things work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28).

Let me give you a real life example from yours truly. I want a car so badly but God is giving me a firm “not now”. God doesn’t want me to have a car right now not because He doesn’t want me to own a car but because I’m not ready to drive it.

God is preparing me for that day when I will be able ready to drive by providing me with a qualified driving instructor so that I may learn how to drive. If God gave me a car while I’m not a qualified driver I would probably end up crashing the poor car or breaking the law due to the incapacity of my driving skills, but God loves me so much that He wants me to wait patiently until I’m qualified, so I don’t break the law or crash my car.

So no matter how long you have to wait just remember that it’s for your own good and that God wants the best for you.

2. Our timing is not God’s timing

Most of us need to understand that God’s timing is different from our timing.

I remember two years ago I wanted something so bad I honestly thought I was ready at the time but God thought differently. I would literally kneel down and cry to God to give it to me but God kept whispering in my ear to trust Him.

Just because God didn’t give me what I wanted at the time that I wanted it doesn’t mean that He didn’t hear my prayers. He hears every single one of our prayers and He wants us to obey His voice and to trust Him.

I never understood the significant of God’s timing because I was too rapt in my own timing. Looking back I’m so glad that God never gave me what I wanted because I definitely wasn’t ready. He knows me so well and therefore He gave it to me when He knew that I was finally ready to receive it.

3. Focus on God not people

Sometimes we can get too caught up in observing other people, in particular the ones that have already obtained what we currently desire to have. I found myself envying and observing what other people had that I wanted. I started to doubt and wonder when God would give me what I was praying for.

There was a point where I got fed up of waiting until I realized that God  works in mysterious ways. You may want the same thing  as someone else but that doesn’t mean that God will give it to you the way He gave it to them. God has a million different ways of bringing the same things to pass. So don’t compare your life to someone else, if you are unique then so is your story.

Listen, God is your father, He created you, He knows every single desire in your heart and He knows the best time to bring those desires to pass, so don’t look at the clock my dear because God is always on time.

4. God wants us to Trust and depend on Him

If we want something from God we have to put our total trust in Him, not in ourselves or someone else. blessed

“Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know” – Jeremiah 33:3

If we call to Him and we wait patiently then He will show us the great and mighty things that He’s telling us about in Jeremiah 33:3, but if we give up due to the lack of patience then we will miss out on those great and mighty things.

Don’t allow your lack of patient result in you missing out on the great and mighty things that God has prepared for you. He will reveal them to you if you stay patient.

5. God’s Best is worth waiting for

Have you ever heard a saying that says “God’s best is worth fighting for” well when it  comes to waiting for what you want but God is telling you to wait a little longer just remember that God’s best is worth waiting for.  if God is saying “not now” then be patient and wait, but if He’s saying “no” then chances are whatever you are asking for is not part of God’s plan for you, it’s of no value or it probably won’t do you any good.

Don’t settle for less than God’s best just because God is telling you to wait a little longer. Wait on Him and He will give you the best that you could ever have. Wait on Him with a purpose in mind by fixing your eyes on the reward.

Thanks for reading!. God Bless!.

-Claris

Images from here and here, original source unknown.

3 thoughts on “Why should we wait on God?

Share your thoughts...

