Faith - Hope - Love

The battle of spending time with God

 

I’m now in my 10th week of my nursing degree and my head is about to explode (literally though). With all the Uni work  that I have to get done which includes essay’s, presentations…and more essays. Just to clarify that I’m not complaining in any sort of way, I’m so fortunate and blessed to be studying my dream course.

With everything that’s going on in my life it can be so easy to forget the most important thing in my life; God.

Summer was great I hadn’t started Uni yet so the battle of spending time with God wasn’t difficult at all. During my first week of Uni the real struggle began, my faith was being tested. The night before I would tell myself that I will get up bright and early the next morning spend time with God and get everything done without rushing. Guess what happens the next morning, yes I end up sleeping longer than I anticipated. This was my hardest week ever. I found it particularly difficult to get up, the flesh wasn’t having it my way.. all the flesh wanted to do was to stay on my cosy, comfortable bed and sleep.

“…The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” – Matthew 26:41

“For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish”Galatians 5:17

It’s so easy to overlook and neglect spending regular time with God when you have so much going on in your life, when it seems as if you are powerless and the flesh is overtaking you. I wasn’t  used to getting up early in the morning but I  had to discipline myself for the sake of spending time with God. Of course there is that odd time when I do mistakenly sleep in or I don’t manage to get up… but guess what I’m only  human , a work in progress.

When I try to get up in the morning nowadays does the flesh still huff and puff at me, of course it does because it wants it’s way but I have disciplined my flesh enough that it obeys me when I tell it no, and being in the presence of God first thing in the morning has become like a habit to me. A good habit.

 “…I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.” – 1 Corinthians 9:27

I will be honest in saying that it’s not easy at the beginning when you start spending time with God first thing early in the morning, especially when the only thing the flesh wants to do is sleep, but it can be done… the more it’s done the more it becomes a habit and the more it becomes a habit the more you will do it subconsciously.

The devil will do what ever it takes to snatch away the time that we have for our heavenly father. He will try his very best to bring distractions along our paths and  to keep us occupied with unimportant things so that we may have no time to read the word of God or to just simply pray.

“…Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.” – Matthew 4:4

Spending habitual time with God is crucial  and the devil will do what ever it takes to keep us away from God’s presence… why?

He knows that the joy of the Lord is our strength

That if we spend time with God we will abide under God’s shadow

That time spent with God is important and not wasted time

That the word of God is a lamp to our feet and a light to our path

That the word of God will direct our steps and give us understanding

That God we will heal our broken hearts and deliver us

The devil knows the treasures that can be found in the presence of God and if he hates the children of God then why should he allow us to even get close enough to obtaining all the great treasures that lie in the presence of God?.

He doesn’t want us to grasp the truth that’s found in the word of God because he knows that the truth will set us free, he knows that we will be unbeatable with the word of God because it’s our ultimate weapon. Being in the presence of God is important not only does it bring us close to God but it also contributes to our spiritual growth as sons and daughters of the Most High King.

“Meditate on these things; give yourself entirely to them, that your progress may be evident to all.” – 1 Timothy 4:15

As long as we live spending time with God will always be a battle, but we are not in this alone God promises to be with us in every step of the way.

Being in a relationship with God requires commitment and discipline (… and many other things) and God knows that you may have a lot of things going on in your life right now but spending time with God brings everything else into perspective and God will even show you how to manage everything that’s going on in your life.

Look at your own life, do you make an effort to spend time with God? or do you just neglect Him. Keep reading below.

STEP TO SUCCESS?

If you haven’t been spending habitual regular time with God then just simply tell Him how sorry you are that you haven’t been spending time with Him and ask for His forgiveness. 1 John 1:9 declares that “God is faithful and Just to forgive those who humble themselves and ask for forgiveness.”

Now try your very best everyday to set aside time just for God, no excuses!. If you do this then you are on the road to success.

Thanks for reading!.

Speak to you soon.

– Claris

4 thoughts on “The battle of spending time with God

Share your thoughts...

