Encouraging Word

NOTE TO SELF: KINDNESS

image

Kindness is an essential quality of being a human being, It doesn’t cost a penny to be KIND but yet many of us choose to be unkind. Make this week your KINDEST week ever, do something super amazing for someone that you have never done before. Go the extra mile just to make someone’s day.

I don’t care if being kind to someone takes you out of your comfort zone. Remember this is not about you, take your eyes off yourself and look around you, who is in need of a word of encouragement, who is in need of a hug, who is in need of a shoulder to cry on.

Sometimes we can be too occupied with “me me me first”  whilst forgetting that there ‘re people out there who need us, let’s make ourselves available and do something for someone else. spread the kindness.

This can be as simple as saying “I love you mum”… I don’t care if you think this sounds silly. I love my mum so very much and she knows that I love her, but I also love reminding her occasionally that I love her by telling her. It’s always good to show the people around us how much we appreciate them through an act or by telling them how much they mean to us. You have nothing to lose so why not do something that will brighten up someone’s day.

Why not call a friend just to simply ask how their day was. You don’t have to be all lovey dovey or teary eyed just be real and really mean it.

If you do something like that you are being kind by investing your precious time in picking up your phone ( although you may probably already have it in your hands with the usage of technology being so mainstream nowadays) and calling your friend instead of you wasting 2 hours of your precious time on Facebook exploring through pictures of a friend – of another friend – of another friend- of a mutual friend – of another mutual friend- of a friend – of a friend – of a friend you don’t even know, have probably never met or probably never will. So basically you just wasted 2 hours of your precious life looking at pictures of random people you don’t even know and will probably never meet. I’m sorry if this is you, it’s your life and you can do whatever pleases you with the time that you have but to tell you the truth ain’t nobody got time for that…

…But I do however have time to be kind towards everyone around me, to give my friend a call to ask how her day went, to let my mum know how much I love her even though she may already know, to tell someone how much I appreciate them and spread some positivity.  Make time for things that matter the most. Invest your time on things that are meaningful and worthwhile.

We get so much reward in being kind to other people and with so much hate and negativity why not choose to be the kind one. Send someone you haven’t seen in a while a text, a card, a box of chocolate. Make someone breakfast/ lunch/dinner or all of them (if you want to go the extra mile) and suprise them, they will truly appreciate it trust me and if you are lucky  enough then you might get something in return from the other person, but the most important thing on your part is to be kind without expecting anything in return. Give someone a compliment and highlight their strengths. Hold a door for someone, smile instead of being grumpy…it’s that simple!.

There are so many ways to be KIND, I’m sure you can think of many other ones.

If you know me then you know that I’m a smiler. Honestly when I smile I don’t smile with the intention that someone will smile back at me, I simply smile because I enjoy smiling. That’s  who I’m as a person. If I smiled with the intention of people smiling back at me then I would probably get frustrated with myself whenever someone chose not to smile back at me. I smile because I love smiling, so if I  smile and someone doesn’t smile back at me then that’s fine with me. I’m cool with that.

As a matter of fact everyone is different, some people love to express their emotions through smiling, some are generally sad and some are just grumpy. Besides why wait for someone to smile before you, what if someone is having a bad day and they can’t even smile but then you are waiting for them to smile so that you can smile back, but then again they don’t smile because they are having a bad day, which result in no one smiling equals dull world. So basically you just wasted an opportunity of being kind to someone and possibly making their day.

I challenge you to…”Try to make at least one person happy every day. If you cannot do a kind deed, speak a kind word. If you cannot speak a kind word, think a kind thought. Count up, if you can, the treasure of happiness that you would dispense in a week, in a year, in a lifetime!” – Lawrence G. Lovasik

Thank you for reading this. I hope you have an amazing week… and don’t forget to be KIND to someone.

– Claris 🙂

Share your thoughts...

